Beetroot

I have only recently started eating beetroot, not sure why I didn’t like it as a child, but I didn’t. Now that I have started eating it, I’m becoming bolder in my recipe choices. This one might seem a bit strange (well it did to me anyways) but it’s nutritious, easy and has a great ‘earthy’ taste to it.

Beetroot & Carrot Soup:

Ingredients:
1 bunch beetroot (4 beetroot)
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 medium brown onion, chopped
2 large carrots, peeled, chopped
3 celery stalks, sliced
500g desiree potatoes, peeled, chopped
2 Bay leaves
4 cups chicken stock (see note)
2 tablespoons sour cream
chopped fresh chives, to serve
Add all to list
Add to my Shopping List

Method:
1. Trim off the beetroot stems and leaves. Wearing gloves, peel and chop the beetroot.
2. Heat the oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. The add the onion, carrot and celery and cook, stirring, for 5 minutes or until onion is tender. Add the beetroot, potatoes, bay leaves, stock and 1 cup cold water.
3. Bring to the boil. Reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer, partially covered, for 1 hour or until beetroot is tender.
4. Cool slightly. Remove and discard the bay leaves. Then process the soup, in batches, until smooth. Return soup to pan over low heat.
5. Cook, stirring, for 4 to 5 minutes or until heated through. Season with salt and pepper.
6. Ladle soup into bowls. Top with the sour cream and sprinkle with chives. Serve.

Cooking Notes:
I didn’t have sour cream so I substituted it with mascarpone and/or Greek style yoghurt. Both work excellently.

Leave a Reply

