Yinka Shonibare

When going through my pics for last weeks post on El Anatsui, I was reminded of Yinka Shonibare‘s work (another artist from the Africa Pavilion in the 2007 Venice Biennale). I really loved his sculpture – not only was it bright and colourful, full of African batik fabrics, but it also explores the relationships between Africa and the West. The amount of work and detail that went into every item of clothing is quite spectacular. I would love any one of these pieces to wear around town (I have mentioned my slight obsession with African fabrics before):

Top image is my own, all the rest are from Shonibare’s website.

Leave a Reply

