Attraction/Aversion

I have come across Kerry Howley a couple of times, from Pinterest to blogs, from fans to haters. But I have to say, that I’m also not sure how I feel about her award-winning graduate series Attraction/Aversion

Kerry creates pieces that are painstaking laced, crocheted and woven to create a delicate, beautiful jewel. There is only one problem, it’s made entirely out of discarded human hair. Even your hair if you like. With this series, Kerry wanted to explore how one could make something that we find disgusting beautiful again. Take a look for yourself:

All images are from Kerry’s website.

3 thoughts on “Attraction/Aversion

  1. I was thinking how much I liked the work until I read the material used. Why do I have a problem with it? It is dead and only gets thrown away but still. Not sure I could wear it!

Leave a Reply

