Appetite for Chocolate

I have to admit, that this recipe has been shamelessly stolen from a Men’s Health article from about 2003 (the article was about aphrodisiac foods to serve to women). I have preserved my torn out piece of paper for that long and there can only be ONE reason why – chocolate!

This brownie recipe has become my staple (and dare I say, famous) go-to chocolate fix! Over the years I have tweaked it to suite my taste’s more, so here below is my version:

Ingredients:
15og Butter (softened)
200g Castor sugar
2 Eggs (lightly beaten)
100g Plain flour
75g Bourneville cocoa powder
50g Pecan halves
100g Bourneville chocolate (cut into small cubes)

Method:
1. Preheat your over to 150 °C and grease a 25x15cm baking tin.
2. Using a mixer, cream the butter and sugar until smooth.
3. Beat in the eggs, flour and cocoa until mixed properly.
4. Stir in the nuts and chocolate pieces.
5. Pour the mixture into the tin and cook for about 40 min for gooey or 50 min for firm.
6. Cut into squares while still warm and leave too cool. 
7. Eat! (You can either have it by itself, with mascarpone or ice cream).

Cooking Tips:
1. The original recipe calls for regular cocoa and white chocolate pieces. Although very nice (and definitely worth a try) I find it too sweet for me.
2. I’ve elected for more beating in this recipe than what was originally specified as it makes the brownies lighter and fluffier.
3. Try not to melt the butter all the way to liquid. Room temperature is perfect as it’s easier to cream and helps create fluffy brownies.
4. I have often not had nuts or chocolate pieces to put in this recipe and it tastes just as good.

Leave a Reply

