A baby Christmas….

A group of girlfriends and I get together on the last Monday of every month and make stuff. We have dubbed this Monday ‘Make Stuff Monday’, yes, very creative name I know, but it’s an excuse to get together, catch up, bring some food to share for dinner and get all those little creative jobs done which we never have a chance to do otherwise. 

Our last ‘MSM’ was two weeks ago and we took the opportunity to get into the festive cheer. We had Xmas food (well kinda), different Xmas decoration ideas (a kind of show and tell) and we did a Secret Santa! Very exciting stuff indeed. (For those of you who don’t know Secret Santa, it’s when you pull a name out of a hat and you have to give that person a pressie anonymously.)

I got a woman who had recently had a baby, so I decided to embroider a baby grow for her. I know, totally granny-ish right? And yes, my Xmas subject choice was probably a bit lame;  but let me tell you – this particular stitch is AWESOME! I once made baby grows with ice-creams cones, lady birds and bumble bees and they were so cute and modern – it’s all about placement.

Anyways, here’s what I did and how I did it:

1. I trawled the stores for cheap baby grows (as our gift had to be under R20) and cheated and bought one for R26 from AC Kermans (100% cotton I tell you).

2. Decided on a Christmas Pudding theme and followed the below instructions to make a bullion stitch. (Step 1. Put needle through material. Step 2. Wrap thread around needle – the length of location b and c. Step 3. Pull needle all the way through the material and wrapped thread, keeping it tight, then place the needle back into the material at location b.)

                 

3. Add little holly to the press studs

4. Do a blanket stitch around the collar and voila! You have a cute little baby grow.

2 thoughts on “A baby Christmas….

Leave a Reply

