Stirring it up!

After a week from hell. I spent a long weekend away hiking, climbing and mountain biking (well trying to anyways). I came back with a broken body and to find a broken keyboard. Not cool. So again, will probably be sparse with the posts as I can’t type without the help of an on screen keyboard. Again, not cool. Anyways…

When I first went to Oz in 2001, my friend Carissa made a big deal about serving me ‘Australian Fried Rice’ for breakfast. There was nothing Aussie about it,  it was Asian and I was eating rice for breakfast. Super weird. But it was yummy and she was proud it being an ‘Aussie tradition’.
On my second trip to Oz in 2009, I learnt how to cook it myself (a slightly more traditional way). Here below, stands my version, it might not be 100% authentic, but it’s pretty damn good (and easy).


Ingredients:
4 cups cooked Jasmine/fragrant rice
3 garlic cloves, chopped finely
2/3 eggs
1 Carrot, peeled and diced
1 red pepper, diced with white parts removed
1/2 onion, finely chopped
2/3 Spring onions, chopped diagonally
1 red chilli, chopped diagonally
1/2 packet of bacon, cubed
1/2 cup frozen corn
1/2 cup frozen/fresh green beans
Soy sauce
1/2 table spoon five spice
sesame oil

Method:
1. Heat wok on medium
2. Break the eggs into a wok and lightly mix with a fork.
3. Once the wok is hot enough, pour a little sesame oil into the pan and pour the egg mixture into it. Cook it like an omelette till its cooked all the way through. Place on a plate.
4. Put the wok on full heat and let it heat up.
5. Cook the bacon until crispy. Once cooked, place in a bowl.
6. Let the wok heat up again. Pour in a little more oil and fry the onions until brown. Then throw in the rest of the veggies, garlic and chilli. Cook for another 3-5 mins remembering to stir.
7. Throw in the rice. Mix in thoroughly and cook for another minute or so. Then add the soy sauce and five spice.
8. Chuck in the bacon.
9. Chop the egg omelette into little squares and throw that in too. Cook for a little longer and you’re done. Easy peasy!

Cooking tips:

Having the rice cooked the day before ensures that most of the moisture has evaporated and that it won’t turn to mush in your pan.
You can mix and match any veggies you want in this dish. The same goes with meat, I’ve done it with pork, chicken and prawns. All delish.
You can use fresh or frozen veggies. I find it best to mix and match. I always keep a bag of corn and beans in my freezer ready to go for stir fries.
In Chinese cooking, you can never have enough garlic.
Five Spice is the key ingredient here. You can find it at most supermarkets but I buy mine in big bags from my local Chinese store.


Leave a Reply

