Being Seasonal:

So, I have a confession to make. I am 100% South African, and have NEVER had Waterblometjies. In fact, I probably haven’t had most traditional South African foods (a proper poitjie included). So when I saw waterblometjies at Pick ‘n Pay I thought it was high time I did something about it.

While at my Nonna’s holiday house I spotted a book called ‘West Coast: Cederburg to Sea’ which had a handful of recipes, including one about Waterbloemetjie Breedie. Very excitedly, I set out shopping for my breedie. When I finally managed to start cooking it though, I realised I had lost the recipe and was at the mercy of the internet (if you have ever tried to find traditional SA recipes on the net, you will know that it is almost impossible to do so).

So here stands below, my version of a Waterblometjie recipe and might I say, it turned out fairly well considering I had no recipe to go by and had no clue what it was supposed to taste like.
Ingrediants:
1kg stewing lamb cubed
500g Fresh waterbloemetjies
5 medium potatoes, skinned and chopped into chunks
2 medium onions (chopped onions)
250 ml White wine
250 ml tin tomatoes
250 ml beef stock
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
1 lemon
Maizina
1tsp paprika
Vegetable oil
Salt & pepper for seasoning

Method:
1. Place the Waterbloemtjies in cold water with lots of salt for a couple of hours (or even over night). Then rinse and cut off the hard stalks.
2. Dust the lamb in the maizina and then fry batches until it turns brown.
3. Once the last batch is done put all the lamb back in the pot and throw in the chopped onions and garlic and cook until they turn soft and light brown too. Remember to stir so that the meat doesn’t burn.
4. Add the wine, stock, tinned tomatoes, some salt, pepper and the paprika. Bring to the boil, then reduce to a simmer and put the lid on. Cook for 1 ½ hours.
5. Taste, and check if you need more stock/salt/pepper. Grate the rind of the lemon into the mixture and then mix in your potatoes.
6. Place the waterbloemetjies onto top of the breedie and squeeze the lemon juice on top of them (be careful not to let the pips get into your breedie).
7. Cook for another hour to 1 1/2 on a low heat with the lid on. Do not stir as the waterblomethies will break.
8. Serve with rice.

Leave a Reply

